MTV News says goodbye as we all awkwardly ask ourselves “they were still a thing?”

By Nathan Jones

It was a very somber day for the 4 people who still kept up with MTV news after the organization was forced to close their doors after Paramount layoffs. Most people forgot they were still active after 2003.

“When I first heard the news I was shocked! I could not believe what I was hearing. I thought MTV News died years ago! The last thing I remember them covering was Woodstock 99 or maybe Aaliyah’s death.”

-Nathan Jones

Representatives for MTV sighted the sharp decline in viewership in the late 90s made them have to face the music nearly 30 years later and finally pull the plug.

MTV news was hemorrhaging money and the powers that be could no longer justify keeping it afloat.

We asked how they can still afford to keep Ridiculousness running. We were told to keep it hush hush but MTV as a whole went out of business 5 years ago and they haven’t got the heart to tell Rob Dyrdek that they no longer have a show.

“We haven’t paid any of the Ridiculousness cast for the last 5 years and I’m not even sure they know yet, they just keep showing up and filming more episodes out of muscle memory. I feel kinda bad.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started